​On 20 October 2019, the members of the National Council will be elected for the next legislative period.

The National Council general election takes place every four years, always on the second last Sunday in October. Members are elected for a four-year term of office (one legislature period). At the end of a legislative period, new members can be elected or existing members re-elected for a further term of office.


Members no longer standing for office

Members of the National Council who are no longer standing for office in the October 2019 election.

(The following list is compiled from media reports and is unofficial).


​Surname, First name​Canton​Seat held since
Grunder, HansBE2007
​Surname, First name​CantonSeat held since
Barazzone, Guillaume​GE​2013
​de Buman, Dominique​FR​2003
​​Marchand-Balet, Géraldine​VS​2015
Vogler, KarlOW2011


Current members of the National Council also standing for election to the Council of States:


Surname, First name​​Party​CantonSeat held sinceElected to NCElected to CoS
Amaudruz, Céline​UDC​GE​2011
Büchel, Roland Rino​UDC​SG​2010
Burkart, Thierry​PLR​AG​2015
Carobbio Guscetti, MarinaPSS​TI​2007
​Chiesa, Marco​UDC​TI​2015
Dobler, MarcelPLR​​SG​2015
Fässler, Daniel*​PDC​AI​2011​28.04.2019
Flach, Beat​PVL​AG​2011
Gmür-Schönenberger, Andrea​PDC​LU​2015
​Graf, Maya​PES​BL​2001
Grüter, Franz ​UDC​LU​2015
Gugger, Nik​laus-Samuael​EVP​ZH​2017
​Imark, Christian​UDC​SO​2015
Knecht, Hansjörg​SPP​AG​2011
​Köppel, Roger​SPP​ZH​2015
Markwalder, Christa​PLR​BE​2003
​Marra, Ada
​Mazzone, Lisa​PES​GE​2015
​Merlini, Giovanni​PLR​TI​2014
Moser, Tiana Angelina​GLP​ZH​2007
​Nussbaumer, Eric
​Reynard, Mathias​PSS​VS​2011
Rytz, Regula​PES​BE​2011
Salzmann, WernerSPP​BE​2015
​Schneeberger, Daniela​PLR​BL​2011
​Schwander, Pirmin
​Sommaruga, Carlo​PSS​GE​2003
Streiff-Feller, Marianne​PEV​BE​2010
​Wermuth, Cédric​PSS​AG​2011

* Elected at the People’s Assembly on 28 April.