The third annual meeting of parliamentary speakers of German-speaking countries will take place in Luxembourg on 20 and 21 July. At the invitation of the president of the Chamber of Deputies of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Mars Di Bartolomeo, the conference will be attended by National Council president Dominique de Buman (CVP/FR), the president of the German Bundestag, Wolfgang Schäuble, the president of the Landtag of the Principality of Liechtenstein, Albert Frick, the second president of the National Council of the Republic of Austria, Doris Bures, and the president of the Parliament of the German-speaking Community of Belgium, Alexander Miesen.

The Conference of German-speaking Parliamentary Presidents first took place in Constance in 2016 at the invitation of the then president of the Bundestag, Norbert Lammert. Jürg Stahl (SVP/ZH) and the town of Winterthur hosted last year’s gathering on the topic of ‘Opportunities and challenges of structural change’. Delegates at this year’s conference will discuss the impact of digitalisation on our democracies. The gatherings are intended to foster cooperation in areas of common interest and strengthen relations between the six countries.